#57805 Twin Paradox

What do you think about the latest hot topic from the 100 Hour Board? Speak your piece here!

Moderator: Marduk

vorpal blade

#57805 Twin Paradox

Post by vorpal blade »

I have to confess that the many (and I think contradictory) explanations of the twin paradox do not make any sense to me. I suppose I'll be hated by the physics profession for saying that. It's not like this is new to me. I've been studying it for about forty years now, and this is sort of in my educational field. I've carefully gone over the supposed experimental proofs and found them to be severely lacking in rigor. The theoretical explanations seem like verbal and mathematical sleight of hand.

I get the asymmetry of the problem. Truly one twin accelerates while the other does not, and acceleration is an absolute difference, not a relative one. The traveling twin has to come back, causing him to decelerate and accelerate again. So, sure, you can always claim that there is no paradox. One of the things that bothers me is that what happens after the period of acceleration? So for a couple of days the special theory does not apply. How does a couple of days turn in to a time difference of several years? It is more complicated than that, but no matter how they explain it I find it doesn't make sense.

No criticism for Laser Jock in how he answered this. Consider it a rant or pet peeve.
C is for
um Administrator

Re: #57805 Twin Paradox

Post by C is for »

My little sister read this question yesterday and started going crazy. Trying to understand relativity ruined her day. So she's with you, vorpal. She just doesn't necessarily buy in.
Tao

Post by Tao »

While physics is first among my intellectual pursuits, I'd have to give it to you that it can fail spectacularly when it comes to the clear transferring of ideas from instructor to recipient. All too often this leads to the next generation of instructors teaching by their limited and/or biased grasp of the topic.