stand for truth (various questions on the front page)

What do you think about the latest hot topic from the 100 Hour Board? Speak your piece here!

Moderator: Marduk

Portia

stand for truth (various questions on the front page)

Post by Portia »

I sincerely hope that the men and women who view their stand against SCOTUS (does this extend to the ACA decision? Citizens United? I'd LOVE to see strongly worded letters about either issue, but no, I guess it doesn't involve sex) as a Brave Stand will extend the same courtesy to those of us who are firmly in the pro-marriage-equality camp. If you see a celebratory post on Twitter or something, maybe extend the benefit of the doubt and assume that person is good and brave and doesn't need to be dragged before the court of Provo opinion.

Being raised in Bellevue or Issaquah doesn't really make you an authority on (a) Constitutional Law (b) the experience of being non-straight. I'm not an expert on either, it's okay! But the implication is pretty damn strong that there's only One True Way to "follow the prophet," and frankly, I do not envy anyone who tries to go against the grain on this issue.

When Todd Christofferson appears to be more liberal on an issue than undergrads, I am ... surprised, to say the least.

OTOH, only 1 in 5 actually DISAGREED with the decision, so to me, that points to rapidly changing attitudes at BYU, even from my day.
Haleakalā

Re: stand for truth (various questions on the front page)

Post by Haleakalā »

Portia wrote:does this extend to the ACA decision? Citizens United? I'd LOVE to see strongly worded letters about either issue, but no, I guess it doesn't involve sex)
For the record, I would LOVE to see questions about King v. Burwell, citizens united, and other cases. But as a personal rule, I don't answer questions I've asked, and I guess our readership was only interested in Obergerfell.