83352 - The Board Apostasy Board (I'm joking, not hating)

What do you think about the latest hot topic from the 100 Hour Board? Speak your piece here!

Moderator: Marduk

TheBlackSheep
The Best

83352 - The Board Apostasy Board (I'm joking, not hating)

Post by TheBlackSheep »

http://theboard.byu.edu/questions/83352/

This question legitimately surprised me.

I remember, during my writing tenure (2008-2010), being afraid to post anything which was even slightly unaligned with Church doctrines or culture, either here or on The Board proper. I'd say that some of our "meanest" contributors have been very pro-LDS doctrines and even pro-LDS culture, but perhaps I only feel this way because I've been out of the Church for so long?

I think the culture here has shifted as a reflection of the shifts in Board culture as a whole. (Not current Board culture; the Board is now more stringently pro-Church in all ways than it was when I was a writer.) When I started writing as Friendly Neighborhood Agnostic in late 2009 I was not aware of any Board writers who were not very active in the LDS Church, though I'm sure there were some. I especially wasn't aware of anything like that on the Board previously. The latest Board reunion would show that that is no longer the case. I don't think the Board Board is a den of iniquity. I just think it reflects the way that old-timey Board readers and writers have shifted.