sad and feeling alone

What do you think about the latest hot topic from the 100 Hour Board? Speak your piece here!

Moderator: Marduk

Portia

sad and feeling alone

Post by Portia »

Hey there, Sad. I have some relevant experience which I hope by sharing here, if you're a reader here, will be of use.

I've read your question a few times. It does sound like you two have come to an impasse. It sounds like there are several values here -- your own stoicism, following individual conscience/top-down morality, your values and your wife's values on LGBT issues (see, it hurts straight childless people too, it's not just "them").

But I think the only thing I keep thinking that you really need to know right now is this: unconditional love. unconditional love. unconditional love.

Nothing can be as toxic in a personal relationship -- whether it's a romantic once, a parent/child one, or, I'd argue, a relationship with whatever deity one believes in -- as feeling you aren't really loved.

And it does sounds like you love her.

But she's probably not feeling that way right now.

I certainly don't know whether you, the husband, should keep showing up at the pews every day. Robert Kirby does. (Seriously, if nothing else, go read his column on a "part-active marriage." It's fantastic.) But this is your wife, and she's hurting. She's not even hiding the fact that she's hurting -- her hurt and betrayal is out there in an ugly cry every time some jerk says something. Sometimes those jerks are her ecclesiastical leaders. It sounds like more and more, that is indeed the problem: her conscience is telling her that this is not a safe and okay place for her to be.