Wedding Registries in Inviations

Your chance to pontificate on the subject of your choice. (Please keep it PG-rated.)
NovemberEast

Wedding Registries in Inviations

Post by NovemberEast »

I have the feeling I'm about to be really unpopular here and get hated on...but this topic fires me up.

This Board Question: #80175

Before I begin....if you put registry info in your invitations and just thought it was the norm or whatever then I forgive you...not that you need my forgiveness. But I really don't hate you, I'm more concerned with the future. Can we please stop doing this as normal mormon wedding culture?

I am a professional stationer and like EastCoaster (the commenter to the post) said, it is largely a Utah (maybe surrounding states) Mormon thing. It is rude because it is considered asking guests for "presents" instead of their "presence." The point of an invitation is to invite someone to an event, not to invite them to give you stuff. This rule applies to all social stationary, not just to weddings. When you had birthday parties as a child, did you mom include a list of acceptable gifts or favorite toy stores?! The exception includes stationary for showers because the point of a shower is to “shower” the bride (or a new mom) with gifts.

The perceived laziness of your guests is not an excuse to include it. All guests have to do is a simple google search of "Jane Smith and John Brown Wedding." That will easily reveal the registry information for the happy couple. If guests don’t have the technology, one may ask anyone in the wedding party or family (they should all be made aware of the registry). So there is really no reason not to follow the etiquette of social stationary. A wedding website is also the perfect place for registry information. Just make sure it is linked up with theknot.com or another similar site because they publish registries for easy guest access through search engine queries.