I need your advice!

Any miscellaneous posts can live here.
Hypatia

I need your advice!

Post by Hypatia »

Here's the last time I'm going to gloat: I'M MOVING TO CANADA IN AUGUST! Okay, that was the last one, I promise!

Here's the big issue: how the hell do I get all my things up to Canada? My things consist of my car, my books (which are numerous) and my threads. One thing I am definitely not doing is driving. (Road trips are, in my humble opinion, a glorious waste of time.) Has anyone ever moved to Canada or out of the country? How do I ship my car? Any advice from you dudes would be greatly appreciated!

This is the kind of thing I would ask the Board before I was a writer.

Hype
TheBlackSheep
The Best

Re: I need your advice!

Post by TheBlackSheep »

You, my dear, have clearly never done the road trip to Edmonton. It will change your mind.

If you decide to reform, let me know and I will give you some glorious things to see along your way.

Also, CANADA IS AWESOME.
Dead Cat
Completed

Post by Dead Cat »

If you're absolutely set against going on a road trip, maybe you could pay a friend to do it for you? There's probably some moving service out there (but it's late and not in the mood to look it up right now).
"If you don't put enough commas in, you won't know where to breathe and will die of asphyxiation"

--Jasper Fforde
Waldorf and Sauron

Post by Waldorf and Sauron »

Sell your car and buy a new one?

Having a car shipped is really expensive. I'd imagine having it shipped to canada would be even more expensive. Here's some possibilities:
http://www.movecars.com/toc/find/index.htm#canada-us

See if you can load up your car with your stuff before they pick it up (some won't let you or will charge extra). If you have a little more than it'll hold, mail it. If you have much more stuff than that, I recommend http://www.upack.com/ to ship your stuff.