Linguistics

Don't have 100 hours, or answered your question yourself? Ask for help and post your answers here!
The Happy Medium

Linguistics

Post by The Happy Medium »

Who here has studied linguistics? Perhaps it's just because it's my major but it seems like there's quite a few linguistics peeps on the boardboard.
mic0

Re: Linguistics

Post by mic0 »

No, I think you're right. I have/am.
Tally M.

Post by Tally M. »

I'm a linguistics major :D
Squirrel
Board Writer

Post by Squirrel »

I'm studying two languages. One of them is German. The other one-- well, it would make it insanely easy to find out who I am if I told you all. I'm planning on studying a third language next year. I can't tell you that one either.
Tally M.

Post by Tally M. »

Is it an Indo-European language?
Squirrel
Board Writer

Post by Squirrel »

Yup. Both of the unspecified languages.
Katya
Board Board Patron Saint

Post by Katya »

I have a B.A. in Linguistics. Happy Medium and Talley, what are you doing for your foreign language(s)?
Squirrel
Board Writer

Post by Squirrel »

Tally M. wrote:Is it an Indo-European language?
I'll PM you languages 2 and 3. :-)
Tally M.

Post by Tally M. »

Katya wrote:I have a B.A. in Linguistics. Happy Medium and Talley, what are you doing for your foreign language(s)?
Well, it's non-Indo-European =P
The Happy Medium

I'm doing French. I really wanted to do a Non-Indo-European language but I was already halfway through a French minor by the time I chose linguistics as my major. Plus, 100 level language classes are a lot of work!
Tally M.

Post by Tally M. »

I've wanted to do linguistics since my sophomore year of high school...So, I chose my language based on the recommendation given on myMAP.
Portia

Post by Portia »

I believe the Board was once sponsored by the Linguistics Department. I always felt that that contributed to the disproportional number of majors.
Tally M.

Post by Tally M. »

But the question is, has the trend continued?
Portia