A Very Female Discussion of Garments

What do you think about the latest hot topic from the 100 Hour Board? Speak your piece here!

Moderator: Marduk

TheAnswerIs42

A Very Female Discussion of Garments

Post by TheAnswerIs42 »

http://theboard.byu.edu/index.php?area=viewall&id=47778

Can I just say that I totally agree, even if I never dreamed of actually complaining about it? I have been wearing garments for many years, but I can't stand where the waist hits me. At least pants keep them up. But on Sunday, they usually they fall down to where the waist of my skirt is, and then they are hanging 5 inches lower which makes a penguin walk as well as having G's hang a few inches beyond my knees. My husband often laughs at my occasional, er, "Superman" look, as he calls it, which is the only way I have found to keep them tight where I need them tight. Before someone asks, yes, I am wearing the right size, they fit my legs just fine. But the waist band makes a very unsightly dent in my abdomen when in the right spot, making it look like I have rolls of fat when it really isn't that bad.

Like I said though, I never thought to complain. They aren't going to move the waistband lower, because then it would be immodest on some women. They want enough coverage so that the top and bottom have to overlap no matter what, and I understand that. I am not sure what habiba meant by them fitting women and not girls. Am I supposed to get fat as I age or something? I've had a couple of kids, and it ain't getting any better. Maybe it was just the maturity not to complain, but accept the prayerful consideration that went into the design in the first place?
jooniper

Post by jooniper »

I am sooo right there with you. But I do complain about it. I'm definitely a garment-whiner. I don't mind the bottoms particularly (though could we PLEASE get rid of the "lace" on the bottom of carinessas? It itches!)